Hi, you are logged in as , if you are not , please click here

Aegina Summer School 2017


Course Information


Aegina Summer School 2017: The Social Brain : Embodiment and Culture

REGISTRATION ONLY for Students who have had their paper accepted.

Course Code


Course Dates

25th June 2017 – 1st July 2017

Places Available

Course Description

REGISTRATION ONLY for Students who have had their paper accepted.

We anticipate having between 50 and 60 PhD students, post-doc and young researchers accepted to this interdisciplinary summer school. This registration facility is for delegates who have been accepted through the open call.

When and Where: The Summer School will take place in the Island of Aegina, Greece (approximately 1 hour by boat from Piraeus, the port of Athens), at the wonderful location of the historic Hotel Apollo (http://www.apollohotelaegina.gr/en), from 25th Jun to 1st July 2017.



At this year’s summer school, we would like to examine how biological and cultural factors interact (or not) to shape social cognition, defined as the capacity to understand and engage in intentional relations with others.  The programme will give us a chance to review the latest research on social cognition carried on in different fields, from developmental psychology, cognitive neuroscience, clinical psychology, primatology, anthropology and philosophy.


Bahador Bahrami (UCL, UK)
Tim Bayne (Monash University, Australia)
Axel Cleeremans (Université Libre de Bruxelles, Belgium)
Gergely Csibra (CEU, Hungary)
Ophelia Deroy (LMU, Munich & Institute of Philosophy, London)?
Beatrice de Gelder (University of Maastricht, Netherlands)
Isabel Dziobek  (School of Mind and Brain Berlin, Germany)?
Sarah Garfinkel (Sussex, UK)?
Julie Grezes (Ecole Normale Superieure, France)
Katerina Fotopoulou (UCL, UK)?
Karin Roelofs  (Radboud University, Netherlands)
Leo Schilbach (Max Planck Institute of Psychiatry (Munich, Germany)
Katie Slocombe (University of York, UK)
Barry Smith (Institute of Philosophy, University of London, UK)?
Dan Sperber (CEU, Budapest – Institut Nicod, Paris)
Manos Tsakiris (Royal Holloway & The Warburg Institute, UK)