Hi, you are logged in as , if you are not , please click here

Fasti Ecclesiae Anglicanae 1541-1857. Vol. III, Canterbury, Rochester and Winchester Dioceses

IHR logo



By J.M. Horn. Published 1974. ISBN 9780485171273



Detailed Description

A large-scale reorganisation of dioceses and cathedrals followed the Reformation and the dissolution of the monasteries. Eight former monastic cathedrals, now without their priors and monks, were each given a dean and secular chapter. Six new dioceses were created out of the larger dioceses, having as their cathedrals former abbey churches. These fourteen were known as the New Foundation, as compared with the thirteen medieval secular cathedrals of the Old Foundation. Further substantial reorganisation took place in the eighteen-thirties, and additional dioceses were created to meet the needs of the period.

Note: There is an online index to the 1541 - 1857 volumes, and you can find the full texts at British History Online.